Posted by: thefutonshoppaloalto | March 19, 2010

Waking up sore?

The great thing about waking up is waking up rested and feeling good when you do. Ever heard of the term “waking up on the wrong side of the bed?” I can tell you I have never slept on a futon before even though I had one in my living room for years. After my employment here, I’ve seen countless people walk in and tell me how great their futon was. I didn’t know why until I was curious to sleep on one myself!

Why did I ever not sleep on a futon?

Simple answer is: I was never introduced to one nor did ideas of waking up restfully coincide with images of a futon in my head. What I saw for the most part was mattress stores claiming to have the highest quality mattress with a box spring. Every furniture store I initially looked at usually had your pillow top bed with down feather comforters or a bare mattress with the same stitched look, yet I never really knew what was in them.

Now, I’ll never claim I know what is inside these mattresses. I was just never informed thoroughly when I purchased one. What I do know is that I never liked sleeping on a conventional mattress.

And I’m not the only one. I rather sigh when I hear someone come in and complain about the pits that they sleep on. I’m not sighing because of their complaining however, I’m sighing because I can relate to what they are talking about. What you see when you walk into a mattress store is a flat mattress that looks great, but what about the support that you need when it’s sitting on top of a thinly made box mattress? I can already imagine the fun these box springs could bring to a World Wrestling Federation as they use the flimsy designs to showcase their “extreme” strength.

This brings me to another point. Futons have been made to be supported on a solid hardwood surface and how much further could your body possibly sink? Not much. Keep in mind that futons have also come a long way. There are about 33 different futons made here at The Futon Shop and each one is designed to give you more support when needed or a different feel to suite your taste.

There is absolutely one futon we make here that everyone has tried and I can’t even say I have had one person complain about it, once. Enter 2 inches of 100% natural (not synthetic) Dunlop latex over individually wrapped pocketed coils above a layer of organic cotton. Say it: Ahhhh. Yes, this futon was made for your comfort. Did I forget to mention it’s covered in a 12oz organic cotton cover for a soft surface feel? Well it is. It’s no wonder this is the best futon mattress we make here.

We call it the Natural Plus. It hasn’t been even been in production for that long and they have sold like hot cakes.

Image portrayed only to show layers (futon is not boxed shaped)

Now let’s talk about a mattress that feels like what most futons would feel like: firm and supportive. This mattress has been in production for 25 years and here’s the reason why: Remember the bent backs and crooked spines from being twisted numerous ways, as you tried to get some support from that pit in your mattress? Why were you even trying to twist your body in that pit to get support? I sure know I have.

Getting a good night’s rest shouldn’t be a battle between you and that mattress pit. How many spins did you need to get that “sweet spot?” Anyway, this futon mattress we call the Back Care Plus composes of layers of high density firm soy foam, long staple cotton (yes there are different grades of cotton), and virgin wool grown here in America.

This 9 inch futon uses no coils like your conventional mattress and it’s been layered for a symmetry that can benefit you when flipping it over, to give the same surface you’ve been sleeping on when you first laid on it.

The fair price of this futon is also to consider when you are getting a futon that will last with every day usage from 12-15 years.

In the end, I have spent too much time on a conventional mattress, remembering all the times I’ve spun in that pit to find that 8 hours of sleep I needed. I finally decided to sleep on the futon in my living room one day for a couple nights and strangely enough, I end up waking from my slumber 6-7 hours later wondering why I couldn’t sleep my usual 10 hours.

Oddly, there was a difference in the time consumed to sleep when compared with one another. Conventional mattress: 9-10 hours needed and waking up with a feeling of wanting more sleep. Firm futon: 6-7 hours with a peculiar curiosity if I needed more sleep, but I didn’t. Rather than question why I had a good rest on a futon compared to what I had believed would have given that (conventional mattress), I just knew the difference from that point.

Moral of the story: When you need support, get it.
Here’s to a good night’s rest.

You can get some here as well: http://www.thefutonshop.com

Responses

  1. Your writing is so excellent!
    I hate those cheap boxsprings too!

  2. wow! great information!

  3. Thanks all, appreciate it!

  4. The Most Toxic Places in Your Home: Your Bed..
    The average person spends about one-third of her life in bed. The problem: Most conventional mattresses contain brominated flame retardants, also known as polybrominated diphenyl ethers, or PBDEs (mostly banned in Europe since 2004, as well as in some states). “We’re just beginning to get worried about PBDEs,” says Philip J. Landrigan, MD, chairman of the Department of Community and Preventive Medicine and professor of pediatrics at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York City.

    PBDEs are structurally similar to the polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) that were banned in the 1970s in the United States because they were found to be persistent in the environment and the human body, says David O. Carpenter, MD, director of the Institute for Health and the Environment at the University at Albany, State University of New York. “PBDEs appear to do almost everything PCBs do, including cause cancer and interfere with immune-system function,” he adds.

    Medical experts are currently investigating PBDEs and their possible links to cancer, immune and thyroid suppression, and IQ reduction in children. A 2003 study published in Environmental Health Perspectives found that women in Texas had breast milk with PBDE levels 10 to 100 times higher than those of women in Europe. “PBDEs affect almost every organ in the body, and levels are rising exponentially in blood and breast milk,” Carpenter notes. “You can be pretty sure that if they’re in breast milk, they’re going to be in kids’ bodies.”

    Mattresses may also contain formaldehyde (which the U.S. National Toxicology Program calls a probable carcinogen) and benzene (classified by the International Agency for Research on Cancer as a carcinogen).

    Luckily, there are less-toxic alternatives. Consider an organic mattress (a queen can set you back a few thousand bucks); get more info at http://www.thecleanbedroom.com or http://www.thefutonshop.com For a comparatively cheaper option, choose an organic-cotton or wool futon. Wool, unlike petroleum-based chemicals such as polyurethane foam (found in many mattresses), acts as a natural flame retardant.

    If your futon has no wool in it, find out how the manufacturer meets flammability standards; it may use boric acid. If buying conventional, avoid vinyl covers and stain-resistant treatments, as both will release possibly carcinogenic and hormone-disrupting chemicals into your lungs while you slumber. Natural is a must for crib mattresses because babies sleep up to 18 hours a day and have more-vulnerable systems.


Leave a Reply

Categories

